Ride in the kilpatrick hills

So the kilpatrick hills are just outside glasgow and I have never been there to walk or ride but the Facebook meetup group were going there today although later so I decided to stop there this morning to have an early ride.

IMG_7152
Road was pretty icy but once on the bike it was great and then I started to climb

IMG_7157
And climb right to top of ridge. The genesis caribou has a 1×10 setup but up top it hits 13% ave gradient (makes note to check on gps track) I was having to sit back and pedal as standing or leaning forward meant the tyres were starting to slip. But sitting down meant the front wheel lifted on every pedal stroke …. I confess to 2 brief halts. Then the top ….

IMG_7162
Nice pretty untouched snow – luckily someone had passed yesterday so I had an indication of where to go – it was all new to me. Fat tyres only sunk in 2-4 inches but when I stepped off it was 6-10 deep ….. Ooooft

IMG_7160
Then the path led down

IMG_7163

By the bottom I was grinning ear to ear.

Screenshot 2015-01-30 14.25.38

2 thoughts on “Ride in the kilpatrick hills”

Leave a Reply

