Race last …. Last Saturday and tomorrow

last Saturday was the Selkirk mtb marathon – a 80km mtb race in the Scottish Borders. Started well – and I was cycling well – the lynskey 29er rohloff is a beast when it comes to rolling. All was well to the 55km mark when coming through the Innerleithen trails I hint some Flint so hard it punched through the rear tyre (set up tubeless). Stopped and jiggled the wheel trying to get lube to block hole. Big cut about 5mm and it wasn’t sealing but slowed after 5min so pumped up more and carried on…… 400m later it was obvious it wasn’t going to hold so I stopped and changed tyre – got the tube I carry out and fitted it. Pump up and on the bike slowly – took 10 minutes and carry on. Into a drop and Pfffffffff! A puncture.

Now here I was delayed and must have seen 150people pass as I took tube out and tried to wipe the latex off so I could patch it. Bloody hell what a mess – was wiping the tube on the grass on my clothes trying to get it dry.

So I lost 50min at least – carried on feeling how strange the bike handles with tubes in it. If you have never tried tubeless you really should it is so much quicker. I was also riding slower as I didn’t want another puncture, then the gps died.

Still a good race might try find another mtb later in the year.  

 

A good race but not by the look of my face

  
And the amount of crap – sorry energy supps I consumed …..

 
And here is the Strava summary (well part)

   

Leave a Reply

