A good week despite the weather

Last week the work commitments cleared even if the weather didn’t. Chose to run when the weather was at its worst but then parts of the late week looked peachy if cold.

THURSDAY

Went out for a ride on the beautiful Mercian steel tourer. I have been reading articles about whether it was better to load some of the weight rando style into the front panniers which lowers the CoG (centre of Gravity) opposed to rear. Now the forks on the Mercian have a decent rake and it responds well to the front being loaded.

2016-02-11 11.11.29

For longer tours I would load all 4 but this was a test shake out with medium load for short tours.

 

mercian lomond-5
frost steel and cold hands

 

So off I went on cold 2C morning with frosty canal paths. The bike handled well and I relaxed into the ride – most of the time on the Lynskey road bike I have half my eye on the stats on the GPS and find myself getting uptight when the average speed drops below 27kph. Stopped at loch lomond for a pic of Ben lomond over the water covered in snow …This was far more sedate winding my way up to loch lomond then looping out to Helensburgh.

mercian lomond-6

This was far more sedate winding my way up to loch lomond then looping out to Helensburgh.

Screenshot 2016-02-18 11.29.17

Friday was a short 7.5km run but Saturday was mixed with a break in the weather forecast.

SATURDAY

Munro Bagging and Ben Ledi was in my sights but even on the drive up to Callander it looked like I got the weather a bit wrong.

failed ben ledi-1

A bit too much snow on the hill for no crampons – and visibility was a bit short at the top – and there are too many cases of walkers going missing for me to be a knob about having to do it …. This weekend alone 2 of 3 elderly walkers caught out have died in hospital and a young couple on a valentines trip are feared dead and possibly buried by an avalanche in the Ben Nevis range. So a sedate 12km walk around the woods near the base was good enough for us – still got to blame my better half for the weather as every time she comes with me to climb the weather sets in …

SUNDAY

Back to Glasgow and out for a ride on my other road bike (one neglected could get jealous)

Over the crow road my normal trip / training ride. Again pretty cold but the Rapha Pro Team jacket I bought has been absolutely fantastic this past winter. In fact, when the temp is above 8C, I think it may be too hot to wear.

Rapha-Pro-Team-Jacket-AW14

They are expensive but so far it has been worth every penny. The only missing chink so far are my gloves – have a very wintry Sealskins MTB pair and then the next are more summer long fingered so getting cold hands if I don’t opt for Sealskins…..

Back to the ride – it was one of those rare perfect wintry days.

 

2016-02-14 11.20.47
snow on the Campsies

 

And the Crow road actually had snow and slush all over it once you cleared the car park on the bend. But still I mad a new friend at the top even if they weren’t very chatty.

2016-02-14 12.12.26

Was very peaceful at the top …

2016-02-14 12.13.11

So another ride in and gradually building up the miles – this work business definitely getting in the way of play.

 

Screenshot 2016-02-18 10.58.39
The crow ride as told in pretty colours

 

 

One thought on “A good week despite the weather”

  1. When it’s really cold I use some bright yellow mits, you can see them in a recent blog, with cheap Aldi fleece gloves (with touch screen pads too) underneath. They make look totally daft and hinder gear changing a little, but roasty, toasty hands – yippee. I carry some fingerless gloves to slip over the fleece ones when it’s too warm for the mits.

Leave a Reply

