Fork that was close

So I have been running Conti GP4000s tyres in 25mm size on my road bike and i am completely sold on the idea of this size tyre over my old 23mm. BUT and like my ex-wife it’s a big but …. the tyre picked up grit and stones and i could hear it grinding away at the fork. So finally pulled the plug on a larger fork (clearance) which had good reviews.

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 11.56.58.png

and took to the bike shop to cut to size. I picked up and was going to donate my old fork to another rider in need but the bike shop mechanic showed me the old fork – really worn in the crown and the carbon on the stereo starting to delaminate ….eeek not a thought to have doing 75kmh down hills with.

2016-03-08 14.50.41.jpg

but fork in place and weight still the same 8kg ….

2016-03-08 14.49.17.jpg

Leave a Reply

