La weekend

Friday decided not to work and packed the pouring bike for a ride – a jolly ramble with camera, lunch, spare clothes etc.

Screenshot 2016-03-21 09.32.53

not the nicest day – and weather was close cold and misty BUT I was on the bike and had a good ride. Does pass up from aberfoyle and at the other side decided not to carry on to Callandar and instead returned along my route ….

2016-03-18 11.59.26

One of my longer rides as i rarely go more that 100km and also on the bike which i weighed on my return at 25kg … ouch. Will need to take this into account when planning my touring. Epsom salt bath on my return.

Sunday – my friend Jim called to suggest an early ride Sunday am. He has limited time now after his wife passed away 6months ago and with the two girls watching Sun morning telly he had a gap of 2 hours … so my him at his place 8:30am on what can only be described as a peach of a day. Over the Crow north I thought my fork had too much play – think the shop didn’t quite tighten it enough … so quick change and back to the top heading South

2016-03-20 09.54.26

my legs felt good so gave it some welly both sides of the crow but still 2 min down on my best times …. 2016-03-20 09.58.39

Jim was just happy at being out. Coming down the other side we are pelting along 50kmh+ when i hear jim shout ‘SHEEEEEEEPPPPP’ … brake hard … these most intelligent animals wait until you are 20ft away before dashing across the road. Past the corner speeding up and I see yet more Wooly Jumpers on suicide missions (actually more kamikaze as we would be killed) so descent is much more sedate than normal.

Screenshot 2016-03-21 09.47.50

 

Screenshot 2016-03-21 09.32.24

3 thoughts on “La weekend”

  1. Pal of mine got taken out by a sheep, not a good trick! Another by a pheasant which tried to fly through his front wheel. Both of them were hammering downhill at the time, so not good results!

  2. What a weekend! There are not too many loose sheep running around here, but the deer sure seem to have a death wish. They usually wait until I am close to them to bolt across the road…silly things

Leave a Reply

