I need more power …

following his latest blog at pedal works I dug into the archive and read this – maybe its time to get a smart turbo trainer.

PedalWORKS

If I am to complete the Whistler Gran Fondo this year in reasonable time, then I need more power.

Last winter I trained with a heart rate monitor. My Suunto watch has a built in “personal coach” that told me when, and how hard to train. By the time I got outside on my bikes again, I was noticeably stronger, faster, and better prepared for the cycling season.

I will continue to use the heart rate monitor but this winter I’m focusing on becoming more powerful, and to do that, I need to objectively measure my progress, or lack there of.

Enter the power meter.

I workout using a Keiser spinning bike which has a built in power meter. It measures the power delivered to the pedals during the workout, and calculates the average wattage for the session.

What are good numbers for these tests? I’ll try to remember they are relative, and…

View original post 347 more words

Leave a Reply

